Ban on the importation of salt in Russia came into force on November 1. The embargo applies to the 26 countries that have imposed sanctions against the Russian Federation.

Russian manufacturers are confident that they will be able to provide the market with national salt. The prices will not rise. It is also planned to buy this product in other countries.

According to Rosstat, Russia annually produces about 3.6 tons of salt. It is also clarified that companies can increase production by almost 2 times.

Earlier it was reported that in 2014 Russia banned the import of food products from countries which imposed the sanctions. Meat, fish, sausages, seafood, vegetables, and fruits were forbidden.

Russian officials have extended the food embargo until the end of 2017. It concerns the USA, Canada, Norway, Ukraine, Australia and others.